Your legacy & You

 

wpid-IMG957734.jpgThis picture is hard for me.  This is the first time your little girl (all 4lbs of her) was placed in your arms.  The first time you held your daughter.  Scotty sent me this picture, I wasn’t able to be there for this moment, and this picture stopped me dead in my tracks.

Let me first say I’m thankful, I’m thankful for this moment, that the nurses and doctors understand how important it was for you to see your daughter. I’m thankful that your here that you didn’t die in that car accident that your beautiful daughter is here and that you are still with us and still have the chance to fight. I’m thankful that you love your daughter so much that even in a coma you protected her, even through tragedy you made sure she was going to be okay, you are the reason she got to this day. You are the reason she gets to be held.

But….

It’s not supposed to be this way, it’s not supposed to be heartache. It should be a joyous happy occasion where we all wait for you to have your girl, and see you hold her with love and happiness and a smile from ear to ear.  This is all you ever wanted – and even though she’s here, you’re not, it all got taken away from you. In a second.

We’re doing our best to document her days, so we can tell you all about how awesome your little girl is when you get out of this.  I know it’s not the same. I know you’ll be furious that everyone in the world saw her before you, that you weren’t here that you missed so much.  But you are here, and you’ll raise that little girl into a beautiful woman, just. like. you.

This was your moment, and it all got stripped away.

I’m not sure that you’ll even remember this moment or maybe subconsciously you are glowing with her in your arms.  None of us are sure, but we know that if things were different this would have been the happiest day of your life.  The only thing that means is your happiest day hasn’t come – so there is more in store for you, more happiness to come! It will come.

Till then, even though I despise this situation, I’ll treasure this moment, because at the end of the day, it’s still you, holding your baby girl and that’s all you ever wanted.

I love you. I love her. I believe.

 

Leave a Reply

